The Steam-y World of PC Gaming

     Hey, guess what? I’m on Steam, y’all! I officially entered the world of PC gaming back in January of this year and it has been pretty sweet. I think I’ve been having waaay too much fun, especially when there’s a sale.

     I had been flirting with the idea of joining the Steam community since late October/early November of last year. It was right around the time when the Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth DLC was released. I was honestly considering setting up and installing Steam just to play it because I knew there wouldn’t be a snowball’s chance in hell that Afterbirth would ever come to the WiiU.

     However, I wasn’t exactly on board for totally restarting my entire journey with the Binding of Isaac. I decided to see what else Steam had to offer. I was suddenly very tired of missing out on all those interesting looking games I saw my favorite Youtubers playing. It was time to put that perfectly good laptop I’d bought earlier in the year to use.

      So from the tail end of 2015 until the middle of January of this year, I made it a habit to regularly troll Steam’s massively insane library. It soon became my favorite thing to do whenever I was “talking with” a former associate of mine. (Of course I’m just gonna play with my phone while you drone on and on about nothing, you old fart!) It didn’t take me very long to decide that I definitely needed to make this wondrous thing a part of my life.

     The next thing I did was to create an account and password. (Hi there! garnet_gamer, here!) After this first step, I dragged my feet for quite a while when it came to taking the next one: installing the service so I could properly get my game on. You see, I had a few lingering concerns about playing games on a PC having been a console person my whole life. Stuff like:

  • having to learn how to use a keyboard and mouse to play a game. Virtually no experience with that.
  • whether or not PC-compatible controllers were even a thing. (That’s how clueless I was when it came to this particular topic.)
  • the whole data vs. available memory space issue.
  • the learning curve to overcome when dealing with all new software . . .and possibly hardware.
  • whether or not I’d be able to pull this off without a hitch

     At the turn of the new year, I pulled the trigger. I bought an F310 Logitec PC controller from the local Target then promptly came home to install Steam onto my laptop with that username and password I had created months prior. Then I spent a considerable amount of time mining the depths of Steam’s archives, looking for old games I hadn’t been able to play in years. Did y’all know that Jet Set Radio was on here? The original one that came out for the Sega Dreamcast? Or how about Oddworld: Stranger’s Wrath? The version here has been remastered in HD. It’s probably had its difficulty bumped up a little bit because, I swear, I don’t remember this game being this frickin’ hard! My first ever download was a demo of Bastion. Damn thing was totally non-functional so I purchased the full game the very next day. (Then I went back for the other two games I mentioned.)

     I went absolutely nuts during the Lunar New Year Sale that took place during the following month. I must have spent $25 on five or six games that I installed onto a 32GB SD card I found in my room some time ago. (Seriously, where did that even come from . . . and why was it in my room to begin with?!) But the craziness didn’t end there: I went out and bought a thumb drive with 64 gigabytes of memories just so I’d have the chance to play that kick-ass reboot of the Tomb Raider series.

     Despite all the fun I’m having now, there were initially a few bugs to work out.

  1. Installing the games I purchased to my SD card and thumb drives and not the system folder that was created when I installed the main software. Ending up with a few games on your hard drive is extremely easy to do when you’re not paying attention.
  2. Getting Steam to consistently recognize all the stuff I put on those external storage devices. Getting this one right involved A LOT of trial an error. Fixing this problem involved doing something that most of us probably wouldn’t immediately think of: “reinstalling” a game to the same file location. It makes said game instantly playable . . . along with every other game in that same file.

     There is one more issue that I’m having with Steam that I have not been able to effectively resolve: actually finding the time to sit down and play the titles in my library more often. I’ve only managed to complete three of them so far. And I’ve still got about 30 more of them to get through!

 

Leave a Reply

